Darkwood  (A.K.A. DNA Song)

-Joanne Rand 2021

Standing in a darkwood in my tattered nightgown,

Candle held before my bare feet on the ground.

Maggots in my head won’t give me any peace.

The trees are growing wild; the sun is going down.

Oh, the way in was filled with sunshine,

Sweet meadows on a Sunday afternoon.

And I thought it would last forever,

But day’s gone too soon.

Worry lines betray my storied fascination

In these ancient redwoods, in this archetypal room,

Ready to do battle with life and death before me

My bare feet on the ground and the sun is going soon.

Oh, the way in was filled with sunshine,

Red madrones holding out their arms,

But the evening is closing in now

And this old wood has lost her charms.

In the treetops the sun’s still golden,

But roots yawn cavernous and black

How I wish I could part this darkwood,

But I can’t turn back.

Standing in a darkwood in my tattered gown

And the mountain lions prowl.

Massive godlike trees with mythical properties,

Illuminate me now!

How I wish that I had a guardian,

Someone watching over me,

But there’s no one to put my faith in,

‘Cept my own two trembling feet.

Standing in a darkwood in my tattered gown

And I’m yearning for a friend,

‘Cause God only knows what’s coming around

The next ugly bend.

This old wheel of life keeps turning

And I keep holding on,

But there’s a wind up ahead that will be me

When I’m gone.

This old wheel of life keeps turning

And I keep holding on,

It’s the journey of generations

DNA song

About joannerandmusic

Originally from the Deep South, Joanne Rand has been hailed as "Nothing short of brilliant" by Santa Rosa PD, and voted "Best
Acoustic Band" by North Bay Bohemian reader's poll. She has been touring nationally for 30 years and just released her 14th CD. “The muse which inspires Rand only seems to grow stronger with time” (Eugene Weekly).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment